Options

Hobbyist thinking about getting a MS cert

digitalfroggydigitalfroggy Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I was searching the internet for info on becoming a MCSE when I stumbled across this site on Google. From the posts I've read so far, this forum seems to be a wealth of information.

Here's my background:

I've been working with computers as a hobby for the past 9 years or so. Building, repairing, troubleshooting, etc. I have some previous experience from working with a broadcast engineer for a group of six radio stations. I helped him build and maintain computers for the on-air automation systems.

That last three years I've been maintaining my wife's dental office computer system. It's a very small network of six workstations and a server. She's a fairly new dentist and doesn't have a whole lot of money to work with, so she relies on me.

Last year, using Google and frequent trips to Barnes & Noble, I managed to setup a Windows Server 2003 domain controller on her network. I've also learned how to install and maintain the practice management software she uses (Patterson EagleSoft) along with the various digital xray hardware. It's taken a little time and a few small tweaks here and there but everything is running pretty smooth now. I've tried my damndest to make sure her computer system is HIPAA compliant (AES encryption, regular backup solution, etc).

I know this stuff doesn't make me an IT professional but I'd like to expand a little and maybe do some IT stuff on the side. Maybe move up from there.

I have a two year AAS degree but, it's in Law Enforcement. I was a cop for about a year and a half and didn't care for it much. Now I work for the railroad as a locomotive hostler/engineer. Hindsight is alway 20/20. I wish I had gone to college for IT but I discovered my affinity for computers AFTER I had already graduated in 2000. Jeez, what a screw up there.