Options

Go Wireless or NOT?

mobri09mobri09 Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 723
I am new to the wireless world and I have an important concern that is interesting. I have a small workgroup network that was controlled by a 4 port wired router DI-704p until the router just died on me yesterday.
Ok, here we go: Since i am in the market for a notebook computer, I want to go wireless for the notebook computer in my house and still have my workgroup network NON Wireless, because of security purposes and performance. So instead of purchasing a regular router again i was thinking of getting the dlink DI-524 wireless router for my notebook and still have 4 ports for my workgroup network that wouldn't be wireless.
Here is the biggest factor though!
My next door neighbor is a computer guru and he is good, no doubt about that. The problem is were not friends and I'm extremely afraid he would be able to compromise my network if i set it up this way. My question is what are my options for me if i go down this path...? I just have basic knowledge right now in the wireless enviroment and i just want to be on the safe track here. I have valuable info on my network at the present time. Is there a possible way that i could just make the notebook use the wireless enviroment and have my workgroup network be totally isolated from the wireless activity. I believe if it's possible to get into the wireless router then he would be able to access my non wireless workgroup network! All the info and tips will definitely help! Thanks for your time everyone, like always! Hopefully i put this thread in the correct forum! :D

Comments

• Options
    GawdGawd Member Posts: 132
    Well, Definatly your gonna want to enable either WPA or WEP Encryption with a very difficult password. Although, if he is right next door, he can just leave his computer running there doing brute attacks and eventually(Could takes weeks, months, etc.) he would be able to crack it.