Options

Newbie looking for career advice

graysqwrlgraysqwrl Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone,

I'm thinking about getting into IT/IS and had a few questions.

A few things about me first. I have a couple of BAs in unrelated fields, but I'm self-taught in html, php, javascript, and probably some other stuff not on the top of my head right now.

I'm currently self-employed, but I've pretty much hit a wall with my business and I'm willing to get a new degree and career at this point rather than continuing to pound my head against the wall.

Looking a few years down the road... where do you think the industry will be?

I was thinking about doing an MS through Capella or one of the other online universities over the next 2 to 3 years while racking up a few certifications along the way.

A friend was recommending going the security route and focusing on juniper over cisco. He said that the government uses more juniper and there's less competition in that field.

If you were starting from scratch... what direction would you take?

Thanks for your help

Comments

• Options
    earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Actually you should try just getting your foot in the door in IT now. If you already have a Bachelors degree don't waste time getting an MS in IT without experience. Get some IT experience under your belt and get a few certs and then decide what direction you want to go.
    No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.
  • Options
    Thank you for the reply.

I guess I should've prefaced what I was saying with the fact that I can't quite leave my current business now, but would like to in 2 to 3 years.

So, I can get educated now, and will be prepared to go in on the ground floor in 2 or 3 years if that's what it takes.
  • Options
    Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    What are you BA's in?