Options

Question about job/career after college

NateC16NateC16 Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys sorry for the great wall of text!
Anyway, I had made a post before about certs and I really became interested and would definitely like to take some to further my “knowledge” of some things. I would love to be a systems admin, although I have little to no experience in being that. I’m finishing up my last year at college and I took a windows server class both semesters, sadly it was once a week, but I absolutely loved that class. My favorite out of web design, graphics design, programming etc…

I know this post is probably a worthless one, but this summer I was hoping to get some experience in an IT field, considering my last job was completely worthless (graphics design). I’m in an internship right now working in an IT crew in an engineering company. As I said I was hoping to get quite a bit of experience, I’ve gotten none. I literally do all the crap work. It’s basically a helpdesk thing, but they don’t even have me doing that, like I sit here most of the time doing nothing. I understand everyone is busy enough around the office but still…

I feel like I have a small base and have knowledge in this field and would love to put it to use. And as of right now my dreams of being a systems admin are slowly going down the drain. Although I’m not a huge fan of helpdesk and don’t want to specifically be sitting answering phones for the rest of my life, I can see myself doing it every once in a while. But the Servers and networks are what attract me most. But me doing basically nothing this summer really puts a damper on things and it seems like the goal I’m heading for in the end is becoming more and more un reachable..
I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions or something, I mean this is basically just a rant/complain/probably a worthless post, but I just figured I’d ask.