Options

Degree/Career Advice

dewey haftadewey hafta Member Posts: 39 ■■□□□□□□□□
This is going to be my first post on here. I have read countless threads on numerous topics which has given me answers to a number of questions I had. With that, I wanted to kick off my first thread with a post asking for advice on where fellow members of the IT industry would recommend I go in order to gain valuable experience and turn IT into a career.

A little background information on myself.

I am a veteran of the US Marines where, unfortunately, I did not have an IT related job. Currently, I am on track to graduate with an A.A.S. from the local community college this summer. I am also studying for the Net+ on my own, and taking a credited class that prepares me for the Sec+ exam. I hope to have both completed by May of this year. After I would like to work towards my CCNA and then MCSE -or- MCSA though I am not sure which to choose first. Any thoughts?

Just recently I was hired as a temp with a large corporation to do some IT Support stuff. The project involves the entire organization, which I believe will give me great "feet wetting" experience. My official title is IT Support. Eventually I would want to get into Network/Information Security.

So where do YOU recommend I go after this position in order to get to my final destination (Network/Security Administrator)? I am under the impression that it looks something like this.... IT Support/Analyst -then- Systems Administrator -then- Network Administrator -then- Network Security Administrator. No?

I do not plan on stopping with just my A.A.S either and would like to get a BSCS. I hope to start just shortly after graduating with my 2-year degree. icon_study.gif