Options

Newbie asking for abit of career advice

yorkshire-ladyorkshire-lad Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All,
Found this website when I was looking to study for my CCNA, been a lurker ever since.
I am currently looking for abit of advice of where to go for my next step.

I have been working on the service desk for 2 years now doing 1st and 2nd line support. I passed my CCNA back in April time as networking is the area what i am interested in most and it was part of initial contract to pass this.
However, in my current company, there is no chance of ever getting exposure to switches or routers, the routers are managed the service provider and all of the switches are in and working (and they never breakicon_cry.gif)
I have been looking around for my first networking job but as many know it is pretty much impossible.
My question is, should i stay with my current company and carry on looking;waiting for a networking job to come up, or should i look to move elsewhere to a similar role and hope to progress there?
At the moment, I am labbing quite alot at home to keep it all fresh in my mind.
Any advice would be hugely appreciated.
YL

Comments

• Options
    CDRichardsCDRichards Member Posts: 84 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Hi yorkshire-lad. Congrats on your CCNA, that's what I'm aiming for this year.

As for getting a new job, have you contacted recruitment firms like CVBay, Concept, Manpower etc? Whack your CV on their sites and I'm sure they'd phone back pretty quick for a chat and then they'll do the legwork for you, it's their job and they get paid to do it. Also, they have contacts in firms so should know who's looking for what.

Hope this help.
    2013 - MTA Networking Fundamentals [x] MTA Security Fundamentals [x] MTA Operating System Fundamentals [x] CompTIA Network+ [x] CCENT [in progress] CCNA [ ]
  • Options
    Moon ChildMoon Child Member Posts: 198 ■■■□□□□□□□