Difficulty breaking into the I.T. field

New2ITinCaliNew2ITinCali Member Posts: 184 ■■■□□□□□□□
Why is it so difficult to break into the I.T. field for some people?

I am not saying I'm perfect, because none of us are. I know I have really good customer serivces skills cause it's documented on my yearly evaluations at work. I feel that I put a lot of hard work and effort into planning my career. I currently work in accounting and I earned my AA degree in Business back in 2006. I planned to stay in the field and when I enrolled in my Bachelors program, I initally enrolled as an Accounting major. Mid-way through the program I changed to I.T. I decided I wanted to do something different and a couple of my friends that worked in I.T. loved it. Well anyways I completed a six month internship while working full-time and recieved an A. I completed my Bachelors in I.T., but now it seems like I can't get a job- not even an entry level one, but the people who have no experience or education are getting the jobs. I feel like I put so much effort into school and learning about this field, but no one will hire me. It's getting very frustrating and discouraging, especially to hear that someone with no I.T. experience or education, in a lower level position with significantly lesser amount of seniority got hired. UUGGHH!!

Comments

• snunez889snunez889 Member Posts: 238 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Do you have any certs?
  • networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    What types of jobs are you applying for? Are you getting interviews? If not your resume probably needs work. Are you getting interviews but not offers? Probably need to work on your interview skills. You can bet that the guy with less qualifications than you had a nice looking resume and interviewed well.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • IvanjamIvanjam Member Posts: 978 ■■■■□□□□□□