Options

Got my CCENT & CCNA (r&S). Whats next for me to enter infosec field?

lukingluking Banned Posts: 46 ■■□□□□□□□□
I have been working in IT help desk for over 15 years in level 2 and 3 resolving complex workflow related issues and have just basic exposure to trouble shooting network and security related problems. But just very basic.
I cleared my CCNA exam very well so wondering how do I go about InfoSec field. I want something similar to CISSP or CCIE. CISSP seems a better fir as I am more inclined towards management/audit/ sales/ marketing/ consultative fields rather than too much hands on techy stuff.
So the big question is what should be next step?
CCNA Security?
Security Plus?
CCIE Security?
Any thing else that can provide me a good foundation of security field AND a decent job that pays close to 75K at least in 2/3 years.
Will appreciate any advice.

Comments

• Options
    Cisco InfernoCisco Inferno Member Posts: 1,034 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Good aspiration. I would definitely consider bashing out the Security+ in a month or two. (keeps your cisco knowledge fresh).
    The reason I say this is that it really does provide a nice general all around view on security in general. From technical ACL stuff, to management and policy. Plus, the word 'security' on your resume looks great.

Maybe after that do the CCNA- Security. Maybe do Linux+ after that as well since linux skills are big in InfoSec. I know it as required for my SOC.

Also, you do realize you have to get a CCNP before CCIE right? Lastly, you cannot get full CISSP credentials if you haven't worked in InfoSec for a few years. I could be mistaken. It also is not easy at all.
    2019 Goals
    CompTIA Linux+
    [ ] Bachelor's Degree
  • Options
    MrAgentMrAgent Member Posts: 1,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Go big, or go home. OSCP.
  • Options
    NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Gratz on the CCNA, will hopefully have mine in a few weeks here as well.