Options

Cert Mix

maxpowersmaxpowers Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello Everyone

I'm new here. I hang around on CLN alot and keep landing around here so I figured I might as well register and kick off with a small thread.
I love doing certs by myself because A: they are cool, and B: For me it's all about discipline. Going to a course, you just have to show up and get spoon fed. Doing it yourself you have to kick yourself in the ass and really work your ass off. Not saying a course is a no go, just I think it is a lot harder and more fullfilling + rewarding doing it yourself.
Also, wanted to here your guys opinion on the following, if you think this could be the right direction. I'm a network engineer working a lot with wireless and want to move more into security (network) over the next 1-2 years.
My current certs are:

CCNA (RS)
CCNP R/S

Working on:
CCNA Sec.

Want/Will have (in that order and within the next 6 months):
WISE Rukus ZD etc.
CEH (I really really want this one :D )
Perhaps some HP stuff (if possible, fasttrack from my ccnp)
CCDA/DP

Long term (1-3 years)
*Cough* CCIE R/S *Cough CCIE Sec *cough*...
*Cough* CISSP *Cough*...

Goal is to become a better engineer and have more confidence in what I am doing/consulting.

Cheers!
Max

Comments

• Options
    bump.. anyone..?
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    I'd personally skip everything in your "Want/Will have" section (I don't know about the CEH, maybe someone more in line with that area can chime in). I don't see much return on the investment there.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    jvrlopezjvrlopez Member Posts: 913 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I would skip the CEH.

CISSP shouldn't take more than a few months of studying to achieve. Surely not as long as a CCIE.