Options

Dream come true, bad timing... Help!

RHELRHEL Member Posts: 195 ■■■□□□□□□□
Really in need of some guidance here...

To give some back-story, I've always had that "astronaut/president" childhood dream of becoming an FBI Special Agent. However, several years ago I really began to take it seriously and align my education and career goals with becoming most competitive for this role. I had applied, extended an invitation to take initial testing, passed, met w/ the FBI in my local area, and then... the hiring freezes happened. Everything dropped off my radar and I went on to get this AMAZING job that I have now.

And that's the thing... I have the best job, co-workers, environment, pay, benefits, etc that I've ever had. Every day at work is a day that I am appreciative and happy. So, what happens... I just receive an e-mail stating FBI HQ in Washington DC has selected me to proceed to the final stage of testing. Yikes.

Here's the bigger issues:

* I'm new at my job. I don't have vacation yet and would hate to jeopardize something so great that I already have for something that's not guaranteed -- out of something like 80,000 applications a year, only 200-400 or so get hired on.
* Finances: I just purchased a home and racked up some pretty heavy debts furnishing and fixing. I'm on a great track to pay things off now, but this would seriously shake things up.
* Family: My wife has an amazing job that she loves. She probably won't find an equivalent if we move. I'd hate to uproot her to move to an uncertain location (likely a much higher CoL area)
* More Finances: It'd undoubtedly be a major paycut. I'd realistically be looking at 69K max in NYC... I'm afraid I would not be able to pay my bills w/ this kind of a cut and my wife leaving her job.