Options

Desktop Support position

rdzdubzrdzdubz Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello Fellow Techexamers,

I am finally jumping out of the help desk realm and jumping into desktop support! I have done over 4 different help desk positions for 4 different companies, but now Im taking the next step in my career. I was wondering if there was any tips/tricks/online information that I can read up on to help me in my duties as a desktop support technician. I am pretty nervous, but the company that is hiring me knows that I am a beginner...any help that anyone can provide will definitely be appreciated!

Thanks,
Jose

Comments

• Options
    alexander77alexander77 Member Posts: 54 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Desktop Support isn't much different than the help desk (depending on your responsibilities), when I was promoted I had to focus more on my in person customer service skills and just learning more about systems such as active directory ect. I don't think you will have much trouble with desktop support though with 4 years experience.
  • Options
    Desktop Support isn't much different than the help desk (depending on your responsibilities), when I was promoted I had to focus more on my in person customer service skills and just learning more about systems such as active directory ect. I don't think you will have much trouble with desktop support though with 4 years experience.

here is a basic job description of what I'll be doing:

desktop support technicians will be supportingthe internal employees' workstations and other peripherals (i.e. printers).They will be working out of a ticketing system (ServiceNow) so any ticketingexperience is a plus. This person will be conducting tier 1 imaging supportsand deployments. This company currently operates in a windows 7 environment, sowill not require any migration experience.