Options

CCNA Job Market

gcrgcr Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Guys!

I recently passed CCENT and am currently preparing ICND2. I've read in a bunch of forums that in today's market CCNAs are mostly hired for help desk positions. Is that 100% true?

Way back I worked in IT for 5 years managing 5 Microsoft file/printer + exchange servers located in different sites. I only knew the basics of Cisco router configs. Enough to make all the LANs talk to each other. That was 10 years ago though. Now I want to get back in IT but wanna specialize on networking and security. Should I go all the way to CCNP security before starting to apply for any jobs?

I'll appreciate some advice and in sights on today's market!

Comments

• Options
    Jon_CiscoJon_Cisco Member Posts: 1,772 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I have no idea what the job market is like for CCNA in your area but you dont give us enough personal information to offer any real feedback.

if your unemployed you might consider taking the help desk job. If your independanly wealthy you might go for your CCNP before job hunting. Obviously im joking a bit but there is no reason not to apply for promising job listings if you feel your qualified.

Good Luck!
  • Options
    Ok, here's a bit more info about my situation.

Most of the positions CCNA related I see in my area ask for 2+ years experience. I'm 36 and currently self employed in a different industry.

I've always had a deep interest on networking but never got the time to fully study and learn in detail how all this technology works. Back in the day I just knw enough to have all my servers and pcs talk and spent most of my time manging the server doing backups some support. Since at the moment I've got some flexibility on my schedule I decided to puruse my CCNA and try to get back on the game.