Options

Time to switch WGU student mentor?

oldredoldred Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I started my first semester in April of this year. I have now finished 2 of my classes and am about to schedule my exam to complete the third. I give you this background information so that you know I am a good student and not slacking off with my classes.

Over the month and a half that I have been taking classes at WGU my mentor has proven to be incompetent. She has called me multiple times at the wrong scheduled time and I have had to remind her that it was not our scheduled time. When this happened today, I just went with it only to have her call back at the appropriate time with no recollection that we had already completed the call an hour before.

Before they took out the Java classes I was scheduled to take them. I asked in a weekly call if it would effect me and she had no idea that they were talking about changing the degree requirements for I.T. She said she would look into it and I never heard anything else about it until they implemented it for the whole school. One day I looked and my plan was just different.

My question is, should I go through the hassle of trying to get a new one or should I just stick it out? My buddy is also in the I.T. prograam at WGU and started the same time as I did. His mentor is amazing and I am worried that I am missing out on a great resource.

Comments

• Options
    Cisc0kiddCisc0kidd Member Posts: 250
    I started in April too. Got a pretty decent mentor. Calls at the right time, very positive, and gives me ok for the vouchers as soon as I ask.
  • Options
    BosskBossk Member Posts: 33 ■■■□□□□□□□
    The way I look at it, if you aren't happy with what you're paying for, speak up. It's hard to succeed without support. My mentor has been pretty spectacular. Two separate times I've emailed about something and heard back within minutes. A little over half way through my first term and I couldn't be happier.
  • Options