Options

Signed up for VMware vcp5-dcv academy

JeanMJeanM Member Posts: 1,117
Signed up for VMware vcp5-dcv academy at a local college starting in June. It's a 8 weeks night course, 3 hours a day 3 times a week, 2 hours of lecture + lab.

I've been playing around with visualization for a couple of years, but nothing serious. Started with MS virtual PC and virtual server 2005, then vmware workstation.

I've setup a test bed ESXi 4.x demo server at home and have been using it for my lab use, it's been running a few virtual machines running server 2003, xp pro, win 7, linux and now also running CUCM for my cisco voice track.

Looking forward to getting deeper into it, maybe I'll get my VCP this year.
2015 goals - ccna voice / vmware vcp.

Comments

• Options
    EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Good luck on the journey, hope you enjoy it! Does the course fulfill the training requirement?
    NSX, NSX, more NSX..

Blog >> http://virtual10.com
  • Options
    Essendon wrote: »
    Good luck on the journey, hope you enjoy it! Does the course fulfill the training requirement?

Yep :) Comes with a discount for VCP test as well.
  • Options
    EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Good! And the voucher sure helps. Ensure you lab up at home too as you go. Is the course doing 5.5 or 5.1, either way you'd want your home lab be about the same too.
    NSX, NSX, more NSX..

Blog >> http://virtual10.com
  • Options
    Essendon wrote: »
    Good! And the voucher sure helps. Ensure you lab up at home too as you go. Is the course doing 5.5 or 5.1, either way you'd want your home lab be about the same too.

Will do, I have 5.1 iso downloaded and got the demo license from vmware for both versions. My physical box is running 4.1 and I'll run 5.5 in workstation as it's got enough ram (16gig) for lab work.

It will be interesting to see if the 8 week course plus official vcp book and lab is enough for passing the exam.
  • Options