Options

First VMware certification

LexluetharLexluethar Member Posts: 516
I'm finishing up my MCSA 2008 in June. Once that is complete I've decided i'm going to start working on vmware certifications. I'm currently a system administrator at my job where my primary roles are vmware, storage and system administration (troubleshooting stuff).

I'm completely ignorant of how the vmware certification process works. I'm very familiar with Microsofts - but vmware seems a bit different.

The second week in July i'm going to take the ICM class for 5.5. Once I take that course I'm eligible to take the VCP exam correct? Are there individual exams for each course or just a set of courses that once taken, if you pass the VCP exam you are certified?

My plan is to take the ICM course then within that same month take the VCP5-DCV. Is that realisitic? I've been working with Vmware for about a year how - within our setup i've configured HA, DRS, DVS and a few other more simplistic things like templates, DRS rules for our SQL cluster, etc.

Once i have my VCP5-DCV i had planned on working towards my VCAP. I don't think i would realistically be able to complete that until early next year. Another question there though - on the required training they have Optimize and Scale as one of the classes for the VCAP - yet i see that same course under VCP.

Any input is appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    jibbajabbajibbajabba Member Posts: 4,317 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Once you have sat the ICM class you are indeed allowed to take the VCP exam. There is only one (well, two, if you count the VCP510) - the VCP550. The VCP510 is based on vSphere 5.0 (which you can still book) so make sure you sign up for the VCP550 exam. There aren't individual exams for the courses. There are multiple courses which are accepted as pre-requisite for the VCP, including the Optimize and Scale. But you only ever have to sit the ICM (since you do that anyway) and then sit the exam.