Labbing for the MCSA

jwpjrjwpjr Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey all,

I currently work in the IT field as a mobility engineer. I'm not required at all to have any certifications or anything, but I'll be finishing up my Masters degree in December, and so my time is starting to open up. My Bachelors degree was in Information assurance, and was more policy/regulation focused, so I don't really have a ton of technical skills, although, I pick it up pretty fast.

Anyhow, eventually, I'd like to get my MCSE: Messaging certification, but for now, I'm trying to focus on the MCSA. I'm wondering if I can get some information on setting up a lab. I know this question has probably been asked ad-nauseum, but I didn't find anything in the forums that addressed my question.

Basically, I don't want anything expensive for a lab. Just minimum requirements or maybe a little better. I'm pretty familiar with using VMs, so I'll probably just take that route. Really, I'm just looking for a suggestion on what I need for a computer to run all the VMs I need without being really laggy. I currently use an ASUS laptop with 8.1 as my primary computer. I also have a Mac Mini that I hardly ever use (it's a newer one, I just use the laptop more) and I have upgraded the RAM (been awhile, but I'm pretty sure there is 8GB in there). I was thinking I would probably have to buy a new desktop, but I just want to make sure that I get one that is capable of handling the labs that I will need -- unless you think the Apple can do it :).

You guys are the experts, so hopefully you can point me in the right direction.

Thanks!

Comments

• netsysllcnetsysllc Member Posts: 479 ■■■■□□□□□□