Passed CISSP with limited study schedule

gooner1gooner1 Member Posts: 13 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello All,

Like others I wanted to thank everyone in this forum for their experience and suggestions. I found it really beneficial for developing my study strategy under tight timelines.

I came back from a long personal time off (rode a motorcycle from Canada to end of South America) in March I had received a CISSP Exam voucher from my work last year and intended on scheduling the exam for end of July. However, my exam voucher expired at the end of May so I decided to give it a shot instead of wasting the voucher so the exam was scheduled.

About me:
I am a security consultant with 5 years of experience mostly around risk and governance, risk and regulations, access control, security ops. I had no real experience in sec arch, telecom and network, crypto, and very limited experience with SDLC, physical, BCP/DR.

Study/Timeline:
Due to work and other personal time constraints, I started reading the Shon Harris AIO 6th Ed. 11 weeks from the exam. Progress was slow, I did not do the 2-3 hours/per night that I intended and fell rather far behind on my reading. I did not finish reading Telecom and Network (from AIO) until the beginning of the final week. Crypto wasn't too bad with my education background but by the point I was on my final domain (SDLC) I was rather sick of Shon Harris' AIO so I switched to Eric Conrad which was much more succinct. On the other hand, it was not as granular as Shon Harris AIO so I did go back to check on key points and her description of some points that I needed clarification. I finished reading all domains and the chapter test day before the exam.

Test/Prep: