Insights on these matters...

AB.CalculusAB.Calculus Member Posts: 29 ■■■□□□□□□□
A recruiter contacted me in regards to an help desk contract position. I stated to him that I have help desk experience. Along the way, I told him I was comfortable with the rate since he asked me, and then I was asked if I'd be comfortable with desktop or HD. I told him desktop but if that's not open, then I'll do HD. So for some strange reason, he says that he'll send my the job description and then abruptly hanged up the call (bad sign). It's been about 3 hours and I received no email.

Almost an hour later, I get a call from the Account Manager from a program I graduated from informing me of a position I applied last week. At the moment, I couldn't recall for what role, until the person mentioned so-and-so name, in which I finally remembered. So, she asked if I was available tomorrow for an interview at 5pm (time seemed odd) but I told her I'm free. She said that she'll send an email of the address but I haven't received anything. I sent her an email, asking if everything is okay on the hiring manager side, but no response.

So this bring me to my question is:

Based on the fact what happened, could it be the possible how I come off to people? I hate to be honest but I have a "chip on my shoulder" attitude (very withdrawn from family/people, anger & resentment issues and shady, low tolerance towards people). Can people, especially recruiters/managers that sense over the phone? Also, I speak in condescending way, sometimes without realizing it and I can tell people are put-off from it, they cringe and don't want to deal with me.

What are your thoughts on this? Thanks for the help.

Comments

• MSP-ITMSP-IT Member Posts: 752 ■■■□□□□□□□