Options

With spanning tree, do all the links between switches have to be trunk links?

StonedHitmanStonedHitman Member Posts: 120
I'm just learning spanning tree and atm I don't understand how spanning tree works in conjunction with vlans. Because of that something has really been nagging me, and that is the question in the title. Just going by what I already know or what I think I know, I assume that per vlan spanning tree(pvst) is what you would use for spanning tree with vlans. But then technically, your already dealing with vlans either way(vlan 1) so I guess that blows my theory out of the water.
Currently reading Network Warrior

Comments

• Options
    FloOzFloOz Member Posts: 1,614 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I'm a little confused by what you are asking. Trunks allow interconnected switches to pass vlan traffic between them. Can you connect two switches and set both sides to a particular access vlan? Yes you can, however then only that particular vlan will be passed on that link.
  • Options
    Yea, sorry I confused you, it's just that I always get distracted by little details like this.

So, from what I understand, if you neglect to configure trunks between switches while your using spanning tree, spanning tree will still work fine, it will just only work on the native vlan. Is this right?
  • Options
    Jon_CiscoJon_Cisco Member Posts: 1,772 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Per vlan spanning tree is going to allow a different root bridge for each vlan.

If you configure it correctly links can be blocked on one vlan and active for another. Making better use of your connections and allowing some load balancing.

Trunks allow a single port to move multiple vlans between the switches. I suppose you could set up a different access port for each vlan you were planning to use. Not something I have ever considered.

I'm no expert so let me know if I got anything wrong!

Good Luck!
  • Options
    did000 wrote: »