Lost a promotion / Job offer somewhere else

CompuTron99CompuTron99 Member Posts: 542
Ok, this is going to be a 2 - parter.

Part 1-

This is my present situation:

I've been working for the same company for almost 6 years as part of a 3 person team. The team consists of an IT Manager, and Infrastructure Support Person (me), and an applications trainer (not a developer). My IT Manager is moving so I had to compete with the trainer for the new IT manager position. Well, I lost out (the reason was that the trainer was already in the pay range, and if I had the position, they would have had to pay me more). My CEO actually believes that maintaining all IT equipment is a matter of rebooting when there are issues. Now I find myself reporting to someone that does not know what wifi is or has ever used a cell phone. I am doing my best to not be disgruntled. So shortly after the announcement was made, and my new IT manager ask me to train them on how to configure our routers and servers, I decided to look elsewhere....

Part 2 -

Without saying where I live, the job marker by me is really active. The area is seeing A LOT of investment from tech / banking / healthcare companies. I've been to 3 interviews, and I am working on scheduling several more. These positions for are Network / Sys Admin jobs.
I was given an offer letter for one of the positions. It's a Sys Admin job about 20 miles from home (I presently work 3 miles from home), with a 27% pay increase. I will lose 2 weeks of vacation and my health care coverage will cost an additional 4K a year. My commute will cost an additional 5K (fuel, car maint). It is not an ideal job, and I don't want to "just" take a job to get out of where I am.
I am debating on whether or not to pass on the position, and look at the other opportunities. I know it's a gamble, but I have "job security" where I am.

Any opinions?

Comments

• Kinet1cKinet1c Member Posts: 604 ■■■■□□□□□□