Options

Wanting to go to WGU - is it viable?

selenityhyperionselenityhyperion Member Posts: 36 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am currently a Respiratory Therapist. I do some computer maintenance on the side for some local businesses but not too much, really. I even worked at Staples as their technician for a little while but they didn't offer any training so it was only the knowledge I had gained from online (which I can do decently easily). I have never programmed before but I have always wanted to learn. I was initially going in 2007 to get a dual degree in Chemical Engineering and Physics but left due to family problems and went into my current field. I have some classes from then and some classes from high school that counted as college credit through my local community college. I took Intro to Biology and A&P I in 2009.

I am interested in joining the programming world. I would love to build software or even join the networking world, honestly.

My question is this - since I have just basic knowledge and no current certifications to speak of, would it be viable for me to attempt the IT-Software program? I have an associate's of applied science but the school definitely did not require any sort of computer classes. Have anyone dealt with transferring credits in this sort of situation?

I would LOVE to be working with computers as my during the week job but I also worry about the salary. I do NOT plan on moving (though I can travel since there is absolutely no kids in my future). Is it worth leaving a $31/hr job that I don't really work that hard at most of the time to do something that I know I would love?

Thank you for the assistance!
Completed: Starting February 1, 2015
Needed: C182, EUP1, EUC1, C173, C169, C172, CRV1, C175, C170, TYC1, TYP1, C191, C178, C176, C393, C394, EDV1, TWA1, 3 unkown course numbers
Transferred: BVC1, TBP1, TCP1, CJC1, IWC1, CLC1, IWT1, BNC1, C278, C164, C132 (33)

Comments

• Options
    LevithanLevithan Member Posts: 72 ■■□□□□□□□□