Options

How to determine what skill level you are at for a set skill?

N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
How many times have you looked at job requirements and they list ambiguous classifications for skills.

Expert, Advance, Intermediate, and Entry or Beginner.

How do you classify these and how to determine where you are in these skills?

Is it measured by years of service? How much exposure you have to that particular skill?

I mean seriously one persons definition is different than another. How do you go about measuring yourself for the sake of the position?

Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571
    You come up with some good topics/questions, and this is no exception! icon_wink.gif

I tend to break up IT into two camps--dev/programming vs. infrastructure (servers, networking, virtualization, security, storage, desktops, etc). Now, not being a dev by trade I find I cannot adequately address the question at hand, but for the infrastructure side, I feel there's a quick list of criteria to run through to gauge your skill-level:

Beginner/entry: have not used a product or have used it from a 'user' point of view
    Intermediate: beginner + installed/administrated the product
    Advanced: intermediate + customized (advanced functions of)/planned for the product
    Expert: Advanced + architect'ed/designed for the product

Now this is a sweeping generalization but IMO is an adequate breakdown (and self-assessment that I perform myself) for estimating levels of proficiency with a product.
  • Options
    N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    From the infrastructure side I think you are spot on. I would agree with your breakdown it makes a lot of sense.