Options

Advice With Negotiating Pay

Danielh22185Danielh22185 Member Posts: 1,195 ■■■■□□□□□□
I recently got a call that I have been tagged for a position internal to my company. The official offer is pending with a manager that is currently out of town. So I have time to get together my figures for pay negotiations.

Here is my situation though... Currently I work as a Network Operations Engineer I. I work on the first level support for our network team for the company. The position I just got is for an elevated level position as a Network Operations Engineer II. I originally came in as a contractor and went to full time employee status after several months. Over time I have come to discover for some reason which is not entirely clear for me I am making an inflated amount as compared to my peers. This amount actually can be considered a fair compensation for the new position I just got.

I don't want to sell myself short either though. It’s not my fault my company agreed to pay me what I am making currently and I don't feel it is unfair for me to ask for an additional 10-15% of pay when I do negotiate for this new position. To be honest I had no clue I was even making an inflated amount initially.

Long story short, I need to plan this carefully and this is where I am asking for advice. If you were making an amount significantly above your current peers and got a new position that is normally comparable in pay to what you currently make how would you negotiate the pay?

I fear of aiming too high but I also want to get what I feel is a fair increase in pay now taking on an elevated level position.

Thoughts?
Currently Studying: IE Stuff...kinda...for now...
My ultimate career goal: To climb to the top of the computer network industry food chain.
"Winning means you're willing to go longer, work harder, and give more than anyone else." - Vince Lombardi

Comments

• Options
    Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□