Options

Losing focus...

Architect192Architect192 Member Posts: 157 ■■■□□□□□□□
I know a lot of people posting here are new to the field or in their first years of their careers. My perspective is from further down the road :)

I have 23 years experience, just turned 44 recently. I am ambitious, considerably skilled and have always enjoyed my work. I have never really specialized in anything, being more of a generalist. I decided last year to focus more on VMware technologies, and I studied to pass the VCAP5-DCD. Next step, the VCAP5-DCA. However, as a consultant, my job takes me from one technology to the next. Kind of hard to study vmware when you spend your days in Microsoft technologies... I just went back to an old client to do some telecom stuff for them (MPLS migration) and now I'm thinking of working on renewing my CCNP. Can't focus on one thing! And in the middle of all this, I am looking for a new job (like everybody, I want more money, employers that care, etc...)

It never gets easier guys...
Current: VCAP-DCA/DCD, VCP-DCV2/3/4/5, VCP-NV 6 - CCNP, CCNA Security - MCSE: Server Infrastructure 2012 - ITIL v3 - A+ - Security+
Working on: CCNA Datacenter (2nd exam), Renewing VMware certs...

Comments

• Options
    paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Isn't that just part of the joy of life though icon_wink.gif

At 46, I have enjoyed all the varied experiences with different technologies. I've been fortunate to see the rise of the personal computer, the internet, and mobile technologies. I think that if I had specialized in some niche, I would have missed out on having the opportunity to have exposure to the changes with technology. I personally don't think of it as getting easier, rather just getting more interesting :).
  • Options