Options

Is this normal? Anyone have any tips to get motivated for studying for certs?

NetworkingStudentNetworkingStudent Member Posts: 1,407 ■■■■■■■■□□
Is this normal? Anyone have any tips to get motivated for studying for certs?

I used to work in manufacturing and I was always studying for certifications.

Fast forward to today..

I work in IT and things break all day long.

I like working on computers, but after work I just want to hit the gym, go to sleep, or go for a bike ride.

I try to get excited about studying for certs, but after working 8 hours on computer all day, the last thing I want to do is study for
certifications.

I have been studying for the 70-640 on and off, but I lack motivation.

Anyone have any tips to so that I can get motivated for studying for certs?
When one door closes, another opens; but we often look so long and so regretfully upon the closed door that we do not see the one which has opened."

--Alexander Graham Bell,
American inventor

Comments

• Options
    fredrikjjfredrikjj Member Posts: 879
    Try going to bed early and then studying two hours every morning instead of after work.
  • Options
    N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    @OP

Nothing wrong with that sounds pretty normally to me.

You want to workout after words and stay in good shape. That is > certs
    You are tired and want to decompress from a tough day. Mental health is > certs
    You had the motivation to get into the industry and so you blasted away at certifications that is normal for A LOT of people.

I wouldn't beat yourself over it and I sure wouldn't over think it.

Enjoy your Bike rides and workout sessions.

Keep working at 680 if you get there you get there if you don't I wouldn't lose any sleep over it.
  • Options
    instant000instant000 Member Posts: 1,745
    I used to work in manufacturing and I was always studying for certifications.