Options

Completed SSCP online course but not ready for the exam, in need of suggestions.

rickberrrickberr Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
I just completed the online SSCP course and am a little frustrated because I am still not ready to take the SSCP exam.

A little background, I am trying to enter the security field as I have been working in web server operations and EDI/B2B for the last 7 years. Of the people in my class, I think I am the only one that was not already in the security industry so I felt like I was playing catch-up the whole time. One classmate was already an CISSP which didn't help because he knew everything and would answer questions within 1-2 seconds while I had to focus on each question/answer choice.

Based off that fact, I have purchased multiple resources, the Shon Harris AIO CISSP book, the official ISC2 SSCP book and am using free resources such as the CCCure practice tests but I feel like I may be spreading myself too thin.

Has anyone else taken the online course and felt ready once the course was finished? Is is true that the CCCure questions are based on the older version of the official guide?

When I take practice tests I pass them but usually with a low "B" or high "C." Cryptography is my Achilles heel so I have been spending extra time there since that practice test is the most difficult.

Can anyone suggest which resource I should "focus" on going forward. BTW, I still have access to the recorded sessions so I am going back through the course again.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Options
    Arnie335Arnie335 Member Posts: 63 ■■□□□□□□□□
    rickberr wrote: »
    I just completed the online SSCP course and am a little frustrated because I am still not ready to take the SSCP exam.