Is this job worth my time(step stone)/POS Help Desk & installation

ecuadraecuadra Member Posts: 42 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I want to become a Network Engineer or System Administrator for a large company like Edwards Jones for example. I am currently studying for my Network Engineering degree which includes CCNA and MCSA 2008 classes. I am currently A+ certified and passed my 70-680.

I will go from 30k a year right now (not IT field) to 40k if I make the switch to the following job
[h=1]SERVICE & SUPPORT TECHNICIAN[/h]You will be able to support all POS and Back Office systems, by a combination of LIVE HELP DESK & REMOTE CONNECTION (primarily, 90% of the time), and SITE VISIT in the field (secondarily, 10% of the time). Your system support will include primarily SOFTWARE Applications and Databases, as well as Operating Systems. Next important is the research of software issues, followed by network communication problem solving, and lastly hardware repair (in the field or in-shop). Hardware repair primarily includes POS terminals, all types of printers, cash drawers, magnetic card readers, scanners, scales, and all other POS peripherals, as well as Servers and some PCs.

Will this job help me land a job as a systems administrator once I finish my associates degree and MCSA 2008 cert? I will have to go from support only to actually installing all software including Windows server/7 and setting up the server and clients. Maybe some router configuration and switch configuration as well.

Is there a huge difference in dealing with POS installations/support over desktop support/sysadmin.

Comments

• Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    So you have no IT experience and they are offering you a support position with a 10K raise... where is the question?