Regarding job requirements and preferred qualifications

BrowserzBrowserz Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
I've been looking around my area for a new job, and noticed that most jobs require 5 years of experience. Now, I know 5 years of experience isn't set in stone on the job listings are looking for, they just want someone who has some real world experience and not some kid right out of college. (at least that's what i've been told)

Well, I've found two very similar jobs at one company.

The first one says minimum of 5 years of professional IT experience, but hands on experience with databases is a plus, and scripting with UNIX is also a plus.

The second one says minimum of 3 years of experience, and application security administration.

I have 2 years of experience now and have some hands on experience with databases and know some scripting with UNIX. I don't have any experience with application security administration though.

I want to apply for one of these jobs, but don't know which one I should apply for. Should I apply for both? or would it give off the wrong message and make it seem like I'm applying for every position?

Am I aiming too high and should just stick to stuff I fully qualify for?

Comments

• tprice5tprice5 Member Posts: 770