Options

Advice for CCENT and CCNA

zholling10zholling10 Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone,
This is my first post to tech exams so I am pretty new at all of this. But here is my scenario. I am currently enrolled in a bachelors program for IT and I have one more semester. I am wanting to really start studying to earn my CCENT and CCNA. Any study tips or tricks that helped pass both exams? I am thinking of taking both at the same time. Any thoughts? Any insights and thoughts would be great.

Comments

• Options
    roch_gregroch_greg Member Posts: 87 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Welcome Aboard.

I would suggest starting off by visiting the Cisco Certifications Page and looking at the course syllabus for the exams.

If you want to get a CCNA Cert you could go the two test route, (ICND1 and ICND2) or just take the composite CCNA exam which is just one test. I personally have never heard of anyone taking the ICND1 and ICND2 the same day or time, there isn't a point.

You'll need access to some Lab Equipment (Routers and Switches) either real or virtual. In addition you'll need the study materials (either Cisco's own or one of the many books that are available by independent writers).

I would strongly suggest you start at the link I posted first and get a feel of what you getting into. That and trolling around the forum here.

Obtaining your CCNA isn't exactly rocket science, but it isn't a walk in the park either.

Good Luck
    Goals for 2014: Cisco ICND1[X], Cisco ICND2/CCNA R&S[X], Junos, Associate (JNCIA-Junos)[ ]
    Ain't Nothing Illegal til You Get Caught --> Tickle from Moonshiners TV Show.
  • Options
    hellolinhellolin Member Posts: 107