Confused with IT Industry

Newbie87Newbie87 Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Everybody,

Im new to this forum. Great site, which answered some of my questions.

I'm currently an undergraduate IT student graduating with my Bachelor in Spring 2015. Have already my Associates degree.
I worked one year for financial company within its Information Security department. While back, had some in house training for Network and Network signatures.

I have some experience with SIEM Tools (HP ArcSight) and cyber Intel and intrusion detection. I successfully completed college courses such Security+, CEH, CCNA, CWNP but never went for the actual certification exam. No Certs right now. Preparing currently to take Security+ and Network+ Cert.

Here is the question. I applied for few entry level information security jobs but only few responses. Most require security clearance which I can't get because I'm an permanent resident.

Somehow It really makes me think you need 10 Certs, 3+ years experience and a B.S degree to get a decent paying job ?
Did the IT job market really change or did I miss something in my career path ?

Please Advise

Comments

• Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    It really depends on what you're going for. If you don't have clearance, and they require it, then you aren't going to get that job, but keep looking for ones that don't require clearance. If you've taken college courses, but don't have the actual certs, it's a lot harder to prove. Getting into infosec is difficult without past IT experience, you have some, but even then from what I've seen the requirements to get into infosec seem higher than any other area of IT, it's not IT in general, but more that niche.