Options

Recent College Grad scared?

izzyiz426izzyiz426 Member Posts: 58 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello I am a recent grad at a state school in New York. I got my BA in Network Administration. I'm excited to join the work force but am afraid that i don't know enough, as of now i'm studying for my mcsa and just afraid that i will walk into a situation that is over my head. What if any guidance could any of you guys give me would be great.

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    Mr. MeeseeksMr. Meeseeks Member Posts: 98 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Congrats on graduating!

Dont worry too much on not knowing enough. BA and a couple certs should be enough to land an entry level position. Focus more on selling yourself than your knowledge. Technical stuff can be taught/learned. It's a little harder to learn "soft-skills"

Good luck!
  • Options
    jamesleecolemanjamesleecoleman Member Posts: 1,899 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Having your degree will for sure increase the possibility for you to get can interview. Many people will help you out if you post your resume for review here. Try to check out helpdesk roles or Tier1 support at an ISP. What does your LinkedIn page look like? Do you know about Job Search | one search. all jobs. Indeed.com ?

You might get rejected a lot of time but keep trying. Something will open up for you. People who review resume's might call you in for an interview if you don't have something that they're asking for. If you can't find something that is full time in IT, try to get a "throw away" job such as a stocking shelves or a cashier, while getting an IT internship or a part time IT job.
    Booya!!
    WIP : | CISSP [2018] | CISA [2018] | CAPM [2018] | eCPPT [2018] | CRISC [2019] | TORFL (TRKI) B1 | Learning: | Russian | Farsi |
    *****You can fail a test a bunch of times but what matters is that if you fail to give up or not*****
  • Options
    CIOCIO Member Posts: 151