Options

Moving from Helpdesk to Sysadmin - need advice

RedGaiterRedGaiter Member Posts: 83 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi guys, I recently was hired at a company as an "IT Technician". The company has about 70 employees, but no more than 30 are ever in the office at any given time.

Most of my duties are hardware database tracking, helpdesk tickets (level 1 and some level 2 that I can handle), and workstation setup/teardown for new and exiting employees. However, most of my days are very slow, and a lot of the tickets I get are "I need Dropbox access to this folder". Most of my days are very slow. For example: I haven't received a single ticket for the past two working days.

The office is entirely an Apple office, which is okay, but I'd be a lot happier in a Microsoft environment.
I currently possess the A+ and Network+ certifications, and I'm currently studying for LPIC-1/Linux+ to gain some Linux knowledge. Once I get that I'll begin studying for MCSA/E. Or should I be focusing on MCSA and going for Linux+ afterwards?

Anyway, I was wondering if there is any advice you guys can give me that will help me move up from the helpdesk and gain valuable experience and knowledge, even in such a slow environment.

I should mention that this is my first full-time IT job, and I've been here for 3 months. (Salary is $40k).

Comments

• Options
    FidelityFidelity Member Posts: 43 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I think you need to figure out where you want to go. It doesn't really matter if you do MCSA or Linux first. What matters is what kind of environment you want to work in. If you want to work in a Windows shops and therefore never touch Linux equipment then the Linux+ cert would be useless. Decide where you want to end up and then plan your certs to get you to that goal. Don't just shotgun it.