Options

New IT job, Adjustment period?

SmithozzieSmithozzie Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
I just started a new job on on the 1st of the month... After awhile of looking I landed a Network Admin job with a medium sized company and it seems very promising with a good chance to learn a TON. Its a 3 month contract to hire position so I still need to impress to stay on with the company, which I am not overly worried about my chances to do this.

Now this is my first "Career" IT job I have had and I am seeing alot of technologies that I havent worked with in my certification studies (which I know is normal). My question is how long is normal for someone who is just getting their first real taste in IT Networking (I was a PC tech before this) to fully understand the technologies and be trusted to fully be able to administer the network...

Devices I will have to work with

Both Juniper and Cisco switches and Routers
Juniper Firewalls
Palo Alto Firewalls
ISG 2k Firewalls
F5 Load Balancer
Wifi APs and Controlers

About Me:
I feel very comfortable with Cisco Equipment (just TSHOOT away from CCNP)
I have never used Juniper Equipment before this job
I have very little knowledge in Firewalls
No knowledge in F5 load balancers
Decent knowledge and experience in Wifi APs and Controlers

Thanks in advance :)

Comments

• Options
    snunez889snunez889 Member Posts: 238 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I just landed my first IT job only a few short months ago as well. I was in the same boat, I have many certs but there was terminology and hardware I was unfamiliar with. I don't know every thing here, but after about a month or so I have become comfortable with it. It takes a while to learn the ropes, but you have the ability to learn(given that you are willing to study to obtain certs.). Best thing I can recommend is to ask questions when you don't know something and use any resources you can find.
  • Options
    ninjaturtleninjaturtle Member Posts: 245 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Congrats on the new job!