Options

Want to learn to program (python)

gbdavidxgbdavidx Member Posts: 840
I want to learn to program and make something useful, but I don't know what to make, what is something you made in python to help make your job easier that I could try to replicate?

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    kanecainkanecain Member Posts: 186 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Instead of wanting to make something, I would focus on the basics of how programming works.
    WGU - Bachelors of Science - Information Security
    Start Date: Jan. 1st, 2012
    Courses:
    Done!!!
  • Options
    gbdavidxgbdavidx Member Posts: 840
    I'm doing that now via a couple of different websites
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    I'm a beginner too and what I have been doing is mostly manipulating text files to start with.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    da_vatoda_vato Member Posts: 445
    YouTube "thenewboston python" a bunch of short videos but a great place to start.
  • Options
    routergodsroutergods Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
    The lessons on Code Academy are pretty good and hands on. All the lessons are free and when you complete the course, you can add the achievement to your LinkedIn profile.
  • Options
    elderkaielderkai Member Posts: 279
    The battle of wanting actual issues to solve to help learn, but wanting to learn before running into actual issues.

I guess it depends on the type of work you do. I personally do a lot of parsing text and interacting with SSH/Telnet. If you're into that sort of thing, play around with paramiko/exscript and regular expressions. Maybe web or django too.
  • Options
    YFZbluYFZblu Member Posts: 1,462 ■■■■■■■■□□
    First start with the basics:

-Introspection (getting help within Python)
    -Syntax
    -Variables
    -Math with Python
    -Operators
    -Conditionals: if, elif, else
    -Data structures: lists, dictionaries, tuples
    -Loops: for, while