Options

Transition to IT from another field

AliciabeeAliciabee Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone, I'm new here, trying to gather information about the possibility of transitioning to IT from my current career; any pointers would be very helpful.

I currently work in a private college development department doing data entry/basic database stuff. I have a bachelors and masters in music composition (don't ask me why). I worked in tech support doing very basic help desk and network stuff all through college, but this was 10 years ago now so my knowledge is a bit outdated. My undergrad degree is technically in music with emphasis in electronic media: I took courses in electronics, including soldering/building circuits, recording, classical and contemporary electronic music (working with analog modular synths and contemporary production software). I took programming classes in college, but all related to musical programming languages (max/MSP, supercollider) and I found the higher-level programming really difficult, so I'm not sure I really have what it takes to be a developer.

I'm just wondering if there is any real possibility of me being able to transition to IT and what the best route or job options might be. I think I could pass some of the CompTIA tests if I studied. Would that be enough to start applying to basic help desk jobs? What would be a good goal to head toward from there? I think I'd really thrive in a program to retrain/get some kind of degree, but are these all scams? Any constructive advice would be very helpful, no pointless negativity please. :) Thank you.

Comments

• Options
    lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571
    Aliciabee wrote: »
    bachelors and masters in music composition

This alone tells me that you are intelligent and can understand complex thoughts/ideas/concepts. Music theory/composition will wreak havoc on your brain and truly involves both the creative and concrete aspects of our mental capacity.