Options

Is my masters degree a liability for entry level IT work?

tjb122982tjb122982 Member Posts: 255 ■■■□□□□□□□
First, I'll give you a little history: some years ago, I graduated from my mid-major state uni with a BS in History and Political Science and then I went on to graduate school to work on my masters degree in Library Science (yes, to become a librarian). Before I graduated, of course, the great recession began. After graduation, I stayed in a AT&T sub-contracted customer care call center (billing and first tier tech support). I was tired of not finding a "real job" too. So I decided to go back to school for my AAS in Computer Information Technology, from which I graduate in December. My question, basically, is this: is leaving my Masters degree on my resume going to be a liability for me? I'm specifically thinking of the liability being hiring managers and recruiters will look at my resume and think I'm overqualified. Has anyone had experience with this before? Also, would it be okay if I kept my resumes bare bones with my BS, AAS and only have my work experience being my call center gig, work-study gig, and my internship listed as work experience and leave no trace of library work on my resume be okay? I'm specifically putting "relevant education" and "relevant work experience."

Comments

• Options
    srabieesrabiee Member Posts: 1,231 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I think you are going to get mixed responses on this one. I have seen some people recommend leaving it off because they feel you will get more responses with just the bachelors degree listed.

My personal opinion is to leave it on there. I would never purposely hide something that I worked my ass off to obtain.