Options

Benefit of Master's Degree?

I was wondering if it is worth obtaining a Master's Degree in the networking field? Currently, I have a 4 year Bachelor's in I.T. and a CCENT certification. I am working on my A+, and then CCNA after (I know, weird order).

I am just starting my first I.T. job Monday, which is only an entry level help desk job.

I'm wondering if going for certifications would be more beneficial at this point in my career, or what?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Options
    markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I would get more certifications and not worry about having a master's degree right now. Certs are pretty valuable and at this stage of your career, a master's degree is unlikely going to do much over what you already have. Once you have a good amount of experience and a solid set of certs, then I would possibly look ahead at what your long-term goals are and see if a master's degree is required for that role. You may never really need one depending on where you go.
  • Options
    jamesleecolemanjamesleecoleman Member Posts: 1,899 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I've gotten interviews because I'm working on my Masters.

If you like to learn then why not? You can work on your masters and certifications.
    Booya!!
    WIP : | CISSP [2018] | CISA [2018] | CAPM [2018] | eCPPT [2018] | CRISC [2019] | TORFL (TRKI) B1 | Learning: | Russian | Farsi |
    *****You can fail a test a bunch of times but what matters is that if you fail to give up or not*****
  • Options
    PolynomialPolynomial Member Posts: 365
    I have a legitimate chance at management positions at my company as soon as I hit the 1 year mark as a 24 year old.
  • Options
    jvrlopezjvrlopez Member Posts: 913 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Seen some pretty hefty differences in pay with the major factor being a masters.