Options

Service Desk to Systems Administrator - moving up!!

BaroneBarone Member Posts: 36 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi guys,

Recently I've been made more acutely aware of the potential to move up and/or around in the new company I am with (4 months). I've been primarily in the Service Desk/Desktop Support Role for about 15 years now. So I'm experienced with ICT, good with people and solid with trouble shooting IT issues. I'd really like to try and begin shifting into a systems administrator role or at least preparing to move into one if I cannot get any opportunities at work.

Needless I'd like to develop and improve my skills.

The major issue I have at the moment is that I'm rather vague on what the basic functions a system administrator does on a daily/weekly/monthly/quarterly/yearly basis....advice in this area would be appreciated :)

I'm currently studying a Certificate IV in Frontline Management; I've also got some study material on Active Directory and Powershell to go through before I settle down to do my MCSA 2012. I have a Diploma in Network Engineering.

Advice appreciated....:)

Comments

• Options
    Seriously no one has any suggestions? icon_sad.gif
  • Options
    jibbajabbajibbajabba Member Posts: 4,317 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Trouble is, job titles nowadays are meaningless .. System Admin means powershell in one company, resetting passwords in another.

The best advise I can give you is to talk to potential peers in the department you'd like to get into. Talk to them, ask questions. I had a colleague even asking me to shadow me for a day to see what's going on ...

One company I worked for had System Admins dealing with everything - Windows / Linux / Patching and so on. In my current company we have System Admins for each technology - Windows and Linux .. and a third team dealing with VMware (me) ..

Each company is different so there isn't a definite answer which works for "all" System Admins ..