Options

Should I Major In Computer Science If Im Not Good At Math?

BAO321BAO321 Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
I love computers and programming but hate math, it's always been my weakest subject. Most schools I've seen require Calculus 1-3 for Computer Science majors. I know I will more than likely not use math in the career I want to pursue (Network Engineering) but I want the C.S degree because it is more valuable to employers.

Comments

• Options
    the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Honestly, if you can work hard and tough your way through it I would highly suggest that you major in Computer Science. I'm kicking myself for not majoring in Computer Science and I have the same issue as you (not a math guy). But if you ask a lot of people the math truly isn't the most important aspect. It has a place in Computer Science, don't get me wrong, but not every programmer is writing an algorithm.
    WIP:
    PHP
    Kotlin
    Intro to Discrete Math
    Programming Languages
    Work stuff
  • Options
    New2ITinCaliNew2ITinCali Member Posts: 184 ■■■□□□□□□□
    the_Grinch wrote: »
    Honestly, if you can work hard and tough your way through it I would highly suggest that you major in Computer Science. I'm kicking myself for not majoring in Computer Science and I have the same issue as you (not a math guy). But if you ask a lot of people the math truly isn't the most important aspect. It has a place in Computer Science, don't get me wrong, but not every programmer is writing an algorithm.

Hi Grinch, I'm curious to know why you regret not majoring in computer science? I have a friend that did and she said it was extremely hard and it took her 7 years to complete. She works as a Software Developer and says she should've did MIS because she wouldn't of had such a difficult time. Also, she works alongside other developers who have an MIS, so basically she thinks it doesn't make a difference...idk, what's your take?
  • Options