Options

Need advice on what I can do for my degree. Please help.

ShGreenShGreen Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi, I am currently doing a bachelors on Computer Engineering Technology and minor in Computer Science. I am on my second year and would like to start getting certifications and other things needed to get a job that will take me where I want to go. I would like to go into security and hacking, but I don't know where to start. I have read many of the forums here and other websites, but they just confuse me more. I plan on doing the some basic certifications (A+, Networking+, Security+) by the end of next year. I was also looking into security architecture and network security. I guess I need to do more research on both of these, but I would like to work with computer security and maybe the actual home/building security. There's so many certifications I don't really know which ones to take or what kind of jobs I should have to get into computer security. Also, do you know of anything I should be already doing to prepare me for computer security or hacking? Thanks! Sorry for the long paragraph.

Comments

• Options
    abyssinicaabyssinica Member Posts: 97 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I don't know about home/building security, but if you want to be a "hacker", you will need to become a programmer. The more languages you know, the better.
  • Options
    ImYourOnlyDJImYourOnlyDJ Member Posts: 180
    The Comptia trio (A+, Network+, and Security+) would be a great start. I would imagine that you would most likely have to start with an entry level position such as help desk or network support before moving into an actual security position. It seems like CISSP is the leading security certification at this time. CCNA and CCNA-Security would be great as well.

Some things you could do on the side could be setting up VPNs, sniffing packets (on your own network), and just take the time to learn networking basics (like the OSI model and IP packet contents).
  • Options