Options

Pondering the idea of maybe becoming a computer teacher of some kind, need advice

First, I'd like to tell you guys that I'm studying for my ccna R&S and so far so good, and will continue to work on my ccna studying at my local vocational school where I got interested in networking. I'm on break so i'll be going back next month for the second semester. After I'm done with the course in december I should be ready for the icnd2 exam(probably sooner but i'm staying til finished).

At that point, late dec, I should have my CCNA. From there I'll still be studying for certs like ccna security, wireless, and other vendor certs while at the same time going to my local community college where I plan to major in computer science. In addition to computer science I want to take speech/communication courses, I feel that would be helpful for any teacher. On a more personal note, I'm an introvert and have self esteem issues, always have. But I want to change that, I've been lost since I graduated high school, not sure what I wanted to do with my life. 21yo now, and I'm ready to change for the better.

Anyways, my plan is to get a BS in CS, by that time I'll probably have some certs to compliment it. After researching, a computer teacher at the HS level or even an instructor like the one at my vocational school require atleast a Bachelor's and hopefully I'd have that(I think the instructor job requires experience too tho)

As for work and looking for a job, I was thinking about teaching computer science, networking, or general IT stuff. That, or try to get a job as a school's network admin or something like that. Or even both(be the admin and a teacher).

Well, that's one of my possible career paths. Still some more research I need to do but I think this could work. If anyone could share their thoughts or any advice, it's much appreciated.
Currently reading Network Warrior

Comments

• Options
    ande0255ande0255 Banned Posts: 1,178