WGU MSISA Done in 4 Months

DonDealDonDeal Member Posts: 33 ■■□□□□□□□□
I've been browsing the forums as a guest for a very long time. I've been wanting to change careers and get into a formal IT career, specifically IT security. I finally decided to take the plunge at the beginning of 2014 as my new years resolution. I have no formal IT experience but many years of experience as being self-employed in IT. I guess you can say that I'm self-taught, but self-taught means nothing without credentials if you want an IT career. I do understand that the typical IT security path is through networking, system admin roles, and etc at first. It is extremely difficult to get into it with no formal experience, according to most that you ask.

In January I started with no IT qualifications and an unrelated BS degree. I set me eyes on WGU's MSISA. I wanted to get in to the program by having the CCNA. I started studying Todd Lammle's book and everything just started to come easy. Between January and February I earned my CCENT and CCNA:RS.

I was accepted into the program with a start date of 4/1/14. I completed the orientation course (EWOB) by 3/15/14. I was surprised that I could view my course tasks before my official start date. I had all the assignments completed and ready to submit for 2 courses by my official start date. I completed 4 more courses before April was over so I had 6 courses out of 11 completed by the end of April. My target was 1 to 2 weeks per course. The only course that threw my timeline off was Cryptography and it took 1 month to complete.

My capstone took 2 weeks to complete. I absolutely hate writing long papers and I was dreading the capstone as it was approaching. I easily put in 100+ hours on it. I wrapped up my oral defense yesterday and now I'm done.