CISSP - 2 years in the making

dave0212dave0212 Member Posts: 287
Well it has been a long time since I contributed to this page, but given this huge milestone I thought it would be a good way to return to the fold :)

CISSP - 2 years in the making

I have been studying CISSP on and off for probably 2 years but had been fairly focused since end of January and finally pushed myself at the end of April to book the exam for Friday 13th June @ 8AM (on reflection maybe a bit early given I had to drive 40 miles to the test center) sleeping.gif

A little bit of background;
I have worked in IT for just over 10 years, attaining many certifications along the way depending on the tech I was working with (see side bar :)) I became really interested in InfoSec about 5-6 years ago while working for a service provider and have strived to venture down that avenue ever since, ending up where I am now, effectively CSO for a billion dollar international company (always gonna look great on the CV :)). I enjoy it because of sheer breadth of the subject which touches every part of business operations.

On to the CISSP journey;
First thing I would recommend if you are thinking about working towards your CISSP is to read the excellent blog by JDMurray
The CISSP Certification Experience - TechExams.net IT Certification Blogs
this should pretty much form the basis of your plan, that being said the actual exam experience is a little outdated due to the migration to CBT from paper. So I am not going to re-hash his great work (but I will provide an objective analysis on some items :))