Can a Comptia A+ & CCNA certification help me land a decent IT job?

darkvoiddarkvoid Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I'm new to the forums, and the industry in general. I'm trying to merge from telecommunications (* cell tower troubleshooting / construction *) to it / networking. I was planning on finding work as a it tech (* uncertified & low paying *) while I study & get certified in the certs listed above while taking part time classes in A.A.S Information Systems.

I was wondering if this is a good route? Also what is the average wage for a technician / network admin? I currently make around $50,000 /yrly in the cell industry, but it's exhausting and I'm on the road for 6 weeks at a time. Lastly, I have some fiber optics experience and am wondering if you guys deal with any of that in the networking / server side of this industry?

Thanks!

Comments

• snunez889snunez889 Member Posts: 238 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I think it's a great route to take. I took a similar route, it did take some time to finally land a job. My only suggestion is to apply to jobs even if you feel you are not qualified for and go to every interview. I did this and someone finally took a chance on me, so its possible.
  • LinuxNerdLinuxNerd Member Posts: 83 ■■□□□□□□□□
    What he said ^. If somebody takes a chance on you.
  • stylezunknownstylezunknown Member Posts: 46 ■■■□□□□□□□
    From the advice that I have heard from others is you can get into a NOC position with A+ and CCNA and from there into a network admin position.
    You should probably skip A+ if you're going into networking.
  • snunez889snunez889 Member Posts: 238 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I always strongly recommend the A+ cert. You know how many people in IT that I meet that don't know the most basic stuff? I guess it all depends on the individual.
  • NemowolfNemowolf Member Posts: 319 ■■■□□□□□□□