Options

Should I include my Law degree on my resume for IT jobs

snowchick7669snowchick7669 Member Posts: 69 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi guys,

I'm currently working in a role where I'm supporting various software used in the company. Towards the middle of next year, I'm looking to go back into more of a technical/desktop support role. By this time I'm hoping to have a few certificates under my belt (currently working on these at the moment) and I have a few years experience in IT which I managed to get prior to going to university. My issue is that I spent 4 years getting a law degree and during that time I didn't really do much work (besides a part time retail job). Do I include my degree on my résumé when applying for IT jobs or should I just leave it off? It does explain the 4 year gap in my work experience, but it's not really relevant to the jobs I'll be looking to apply for.

Would appreciate any thoughts.

Comments

• Options
    yeah yeahyeah yeah Member Posts: 77 ■■□□□□□□□□
    It does help. We were hiring a number of cyber positions (C&A, CND, Forensics), and one individual stood out because of their law degree. They would understand the legal points of legal custody. They were a perfect fit for a couple of our CND and Forensics positions. Plus within C&A, they were able to perform certification based on the letter of the law.
  • Options
    MSP-ITMSP-IT Member Posts: 752 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Definitely. If anything, it would make you stand out above another candidate that didn't have a degree at all.
  • Options
    zxbanezxbane Member Posts: 740 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I agree with those others above me, it is something that should certainly be on your resume!
  • Options
    Tom ServoTom Servo Member Posts: 104 ■■□□□□□□□□