Options

What should I do? NEtwork Engineer position

Adam BAdam B Member Posts: 108 ■■□□□□□□□□
I was recently hired as the tech guy at a nonprofit organization that helps teach kids 3d imaging, circuitry, programming ect. I love the people i work with everyday. It's just me and my overseer as the tech guys, but basically I get thrown jobs like setting up servers, wiring to different devices and troubleshooting issues with the workstations when the users have problems accessing web browsers that wont load, ect. It's definitely taught me patience. I get paid around 10.50 an hour.

The thing is though, I just recently got my CCNA in July and have no way of using it here. I want to put my ccna to good use but i don't want to burn any bridges as I've only been here since June.

I was an intern for a month but then turned full paid employee. I just recently also found an opening as a network engineer that requires 0-2 years of experience, with CCNA as a big plus.

My first semester of college is coming up and and i really want to become a network engineer but I just really don't want to burn bridges as my co workers know alot of people in the area, not to mention I genuinely like them. They say they appreciate my help all the time and really love me being there to help them in any way possible, I just don't get to use my CCNA as it really isn't valued here due to the lack of cisco equipment :/ any tips?
2015 Goals: CCNP SWITCH [] SEC+ [ ] CCNP ROUTE [ ] CCNP TSHOOT [ ]

Comments

• Options
    markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    If they are really that good of people and care about you, then they are going to understand when you are leaving them for 50-100% more pay doing something that you have trained/studied for. If they don't understand then they probably don't care about you as much as you think. It's always tough leaving a job you like and where you are appreciated but you aren't staying there forever.
  • Options