Options

Best skills for an IT manager

Repo ManRepo Man Member Posts: 300
Like a lot of people in IT I had always dreamed of being some wiz engineer and administrator. I've been working in IT now contracting for 5 years in a level 2 help desk / desktop type job looking for that 'big break' into a sys admin role or desktop engineering which never came. When I finally decided it was time to take a chance and start looking for different employment my current company offered me a full time job as an IT manager of the desktop team.I never expected to get into management and I'm not exactly sure what I should plan to do to excel at this position. I obviously won't be jumping into anything right away as I want to focus the majority of my time learning the team and environment and seeing what is expected of me. For any who have had a similar role which of the following would you see as being the most beneficial?

1. Go for a bachelors degree. I currently have an associates from a non accredited school so would be starting from scratch. Since work offers tuition reimbursement this would seem to make the most sense. I also consider this to be a huge con to my current resume as it is not widely respected.

2. Go for a higher level certification (MCSA/MCSE.) I feel like this knowledge would help me the most out of these 3 options as I will be working closely with the networking/server/engineering teams with ongoing changes and roll-outs. This new role is more of a technical lead then metrics/numbers focused.

3. Go after ITIL certifications. Admittedly, I find this the least interesting but we are a huge ITIL process shop and I figure management experience + ITIL certifications should allow me to get a similar job if I needed to look in the future.

Comments

• Options
    datacombossdatacomboss Member Posts: 304 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I would get BS and advanced ITIL as well as work on your communications and people/comflict management skills.