Options

Icnd1

overtheborderovertheborder Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey All,

I'm a long time lurker and I've never posted before but I was hoping you guys could give me some help.

I've been studying for my CCENT/CCNA since March of 2014, I spend on average 4 hours of studying every week day and I've enrolled and passed a CCNA crash course at a community college. Last month I took a shot at my CCENT and I failed miserably. My score was around a 400. At that time I had only read the Wendell Odom ICND1 book, and the Cisco CCENT Exam cram.

Obviously being devastated from my terrible score I decided to seriously jump in head first. I started configuring Routers and Switches for a corporation who would let me come in as an apprentice. I seriously got comfortable with live equipment over the past four weeks and I was feeling real confident with configuring cisco devices. My mentor was seriously impressed with how well I've turned all of this around. On my nights off I was using the Boson simulation software and the exam banks getting scores in the mid 80's. My mentor and I thought I was ready for the test. (I also picked up the packet tracer and I borrowed a router)

On Friday the 15th I sat down again to take the test because I was feeling much more confident about my cisco skills. I sat down, wrote my sub net list on my notepad and thought I was killing it. At the end of the test I received my score and it was a 630. I was stunned, I had figured I had really nailed it this time and was excited to move my studies towards my CCNA.

It seems like I'm still far off from passing. My lowest parts were: Operation of IP Data Networks, LAN Switching Technologies and Network Device Security. Does anyone know how I can dive deeper into these parts? Or have any advice on what I should do? I'm expecting to take this test again the last week of August or the first week of September.

TL;DR Version: Failed CCENT twice. Any advice?

Comments

• Options