Options

Will a non-IT degree be worth anything in my career?

jvrlopezjvrlopez Member Posts: 913 ■■■■□□□□□□
I'm currently 4 classes away from my B.A in Communication studies from UMUC. I am currently in 2 of the last 4 classes I need and should be done no later than April of next year.

Now I'm curious about my degree being in a non-IT field while my career is in IT, namely security. I work in the DoD field where degrees have always seemed to me third behind experience and certifications. I've seen plenty of people with 10+ years of hands on experience do well while having no degree. To me, it comes off as having a degree is just another check box to complete, especially when it comes to management or GS positions. However, all of my coworkers have degrees, ranging in business to information technology, to include a few with MBAs and other masters.

Should I be worried? I have enough time on my GI Bill remaining (19 months) to either go for a majority of a masters in probably communications studies, or I can turn back around and get an IT associates and bachelors. Should I start over again and pursue a BS in some IT field?

Thanks!
And so you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high. ~Ayrton Senna

Comments

• Options
    Vask3nVask3n Member Posts: 517
    jvrlopez wrote: »

I work in the DoD field where degrees have always seemed to me third behind experience and certifications. I've seen plenty of people with 10+ years of hands on experience do well while having no degree.

Thanks!

That's pretty much it in a nutshell, I also have two degrees, one in IT and one not related to IT. Both just serve as small-talk during interviews, lol.