Options

Non-IT Degree and Technical Role

I've been reading various posts lately and many of them claimed that a related degree was not necessary for many IT roles, but what about technical roles? Would someone with a non-IT degree be able to get into a technical position such as network engineering or database administration? I am planning to go into network administration or server administration and work on the technical side of things and my degree isn't in IT. I am likely going to start out doing desktop/network support and move my way up.

Comments

• Options
    Jon_CiscoJon_Cisco Member Posts: 1,772 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I think every job will be different. It has been my experience that job posting will say something to the effect of degree in IT related field or equivalent experience. A lot of companies just want to know you have a certain baseline of education.

I know a English major that switched to IT. It probably helps him with the good written communication requirements.
    I know a Business major that switched to IT. It probably helps her with the accounting databases she works with.

Being this site focuses on certifications I'm gonna suggest you get a couple certifications to complement the degree and you will be off to a great start.

Good Luck!
  • Options
    stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I think you'll have few problems, depending on how many (and type of) CS courses you took to satisfy your minor requirements. CS courses are, usually, quite technical in nature, which might satisfy the IT requirements in the minds of future hiring managers. It all depends on your ability to sell the CS side of your degree.
    The easiest thing to be in the world is you. The most difficult thing to be is what other people want you to be. Don't let them put you in that position. ~ Leo Buscaglia

Connect With Me || My Blog Site || Follow Me
  • Options
    DissonantDataDissonantData Member Posts: 158
    Jon_Cisco wrote: »